Positive attitude to being an OT/MH consumer

One of the groups I sit on is the area mental health advisory group. Meetings are held monthly and I am one of the co-consumer representatives. The group is made up of two consumers, two carers, representatives from Consumer Advisory Groups, and staff representatives from both government and non-government services in the area of mental health.

During the most recent meeting this November, I happened to be sitting next to the Coordinator of Occupational Therapy of [Area] Mental Health Services. I had a conversation with her and told her I’m an occupational therapy student. She handed me her business card and said “If you ever want a job…!” That was before she found out I’ve only just finished second year and have actually not yet graduated though. Oh well. She also mentioned that she was recently as an OT conference and was just saying there that she thinks there should be more OTs who are also mental health consumers. I think I love you for saying that! She asked if there’s any more like me, who are also studying OT and also consumers. I said I knew of one other, but that it’s not something I’d really know (for obvious reasons). She replied that she’s sure there’s one in five, but it’s good to know that I, an OT student/consumer active in mental health, exist.

It’s just so refreshing to hear of someone like an OT coordinator of mental health services believe that someone with a lived experience of mental health issues can make a good OT. Especially in juxtaposition to my family and relatives, who on the contrary believe it’s a shameful secret to keep hidden and that no one will want to employ someone with mental health issues.

This, coupled with word on the street that the mental health service this particular OT coordinator is employed in is actually the best in the state, and I know where I will hope to get a job one day!

One thought on “Positive attitude to being an OT/MH consumer

  1. I get that from my family also. They believe because I’ve received services I’ll never get a job in social work and I should give up my course now. It’s really hard as really knocks my confidence even though mental health staff tell me my own experiences will make me a better worker but you can’t help but have your doubts when you’ve got people shooting you down all the time.
    Best of luck.
    X

Leave a Reply

