Nurses not being nurses

I think some of the nurses here forget that their job title is actually ‘nurse’ and not ‘prison officer’. In the six days I’ve been here I’ve only had one nice nurse who’s taken the time to come and have a chat with me. Otherwise, all they seem to do is their checks at the directed intervals.

20120322-173801.jpg

For the past three days I’ve been given 100mg of the Pristiq instead of my usual 200mg. “We can’t increase it all at once, we have to slowly build it up,” I was told by the nurse yesterday morning. “But I usually have 200mg,” I said, confused as to why they have to gradually increase it when I’d been having 200mg all along. Another nurse then comes up close and says condescendingly, “Yes, but you overdosed on the higher dose.” See that’s what you get for misusing your medication and overdosing. I took my lone pink tablet and walked away in irritation.

20120322-173239.jpg

My hands were sticky from breakfast so I went to the bathroom to wash them before walking to my bedroom. I then hear my name being called by a nurse behind me. “Did you swallow the tablet?” “Yes,” I replied. “I was following you and saw you go in the bathroom. Did you spit out your tablet?” “No,” I exclaimed indignantly. After a few more exchanges he told me “I believe you, but don’t do something like that.” “I didn’t!” I protested before closing the door in his face with disgust. I do not appreciate being treated like a child and being accused of something I didn’t do. Why the hell would I want to give myself withdrawals??!!!

20120322-173430.jpg

The attitude of the nurses here may be too because MSC is more acute compared to 2K where I was in October/November last year. As a nurse over there said, it’s the least nutty of them in this city. Whereas there were only two patients who had stayed longer than the four weeks I was inpatient last year, many of the patients have been here for months, with the longest I’ve heard so far being eight months. Goodness, you’d be so institutionalised. Though the facilities are better here, with the single rooms, therapy room and all, I think I’d rather be in 2K. There are a few nurses that I like and and a greater proportion of them do do what they’re meant to do, which is nurse.

5 thoughts on “Nurses not being nurses

  1. What wankers. Why go into – or at least stay in – a profession that matters do much as nursing does if you’re just going to treat patients with such a lack of respect? I do understand that they must become disillusioned at times, but that’s something they should be taking to their supervisors, unions, whatever – not the people they’re ‘caring’ for.

    I’m sorry you’re having to go through that. I hope you manage to get out soon hun.

    Take care

    Pan xxx

  2. I echo everything that Pan’s said above. 6 days and only 1 decent caring conversation with nursing staff is so rubbish – how do they expect people to get better if they’re not ovvering them any kind of therapeutic input. Drugs is not the only answer! aaaagggghhhh…. screaming in frustration for you.
    tag

  3. Excellent post, nursing staff is the same here. I have met a few who do actually care but I suspect many of them go into the job because it is free to train!

  4. Lucky you had nurses do that. I had nothing all weekend except angry manic/psychotic people talking at me. I’m home now – the admission was absolutely useless. Hopefully you’re home & well soon x

  5. “‘Yes, but you overdosed on the higher dose.'” … um, actually, you overdosed on more than the higher dose, which is why it’s called an overdose. So not only is the relevance of that statement in question, but its accuracy and basic semantic integrity as well.

Leave a Reply

