Sandwich

I made a sandwich this evening in preparation for my 10am-5pm day at uni tomorrow. ‘Err yes, and….?’ I imagine you thinking. Sandwich making, after all, is not really all that newsworthy. Except that, for the past couple of years, I haven’t been able to bring myself to do so. It’s either been salad or nothing, for the fear of consuming the calories and carbs contained in bread and as a consequence gaining weight. I have memories from the first year of uni, sitting with friends and simply watching as they consumed lunch. “Aren’t you hungry?!” they’d exclaim. “No, not really,” I’d shrug, lying to them.

This year I once again brought nothing to uni most days with the intention of using it as a opportunity to not eat. I resisted making lunch myself beforehand thinking, “Maybe if I don’t bring food, I’ll be less tempted to eat or spend money on it.” Despite my intentions, I’d get hungry. As you do, attending classes and studying at uni. So I bought food. An improvement on the days where I’d ignore the hunger and deny myself the sustenance. The problem with this is that food at uni is expensive. Five dollars for a sandwich?! I can make the same at home for less than half the price. No scratch that, I can make the same at home for free seeing as my mother purchases the groceries. 😉

It’s taken over two years, but I’ve finally realised that going from 9am to 6pm without food does not provide adequate nourishment, nor does it set me up to function the best I can in class when all I’m thinking about is how hungry I am. More recently, it’s also been learnt that attempting to remove that temptation of food by not bringing lunch does not work, and I will only end up spending unnecessary funds. Yes I am a cheapo who is rather indignant that they’re charging poor uni students so much for just a sandwich.

It’s just chicken, avocado, lettuce and a bit of mayo slapped between two slices of wholemeal bread, but I think it represents progress, even if I do still occasionally struggle with other ED behaviours.

9 thoughts on “Sandwich

  1. Taking lunch to places is one thing which has really helped me with recovery, takes away the anxiousness of finding/not finding something you’d like (or feel comfortable with) and takes away the temptation to NOT eat (if it’s in my bag, I can’t not eat it!).

    Pitta bread worked well for me, stuffed with ham, chicken or tuna and then tons of salad. Along with some low fat crisps or packet of rice cakes and fruit. Ok so it’s not the most substantial lunch ever, but it is a hell of a lot better than going 9-6 without anything.

    Good luck and well done, it really is massive progress. Enjoy your lunch!

  2. It’s ABSOLUTELY progress! Consciously making the decision to do something healthy is great, and I’m glad you’re making steps forward. Also, I love avocado to a somewhat concerning degree.

  3. Wow! Way to go, BtF! I’m really proud of you! I hope you enjoyed your sandwich. You and your body deserve to be nourished.

    Wishing you well,
    NOS

Leave a Reply

