Ambulance, ED…it’s all a blur

Well. I OD’d last night. Not with the intention of turning up at the ED afterwards, like I had done once before. Probably shouldn’t have broadcasted it over Tumblr then. Oops. I thought it would be okay, as there’s nobody I know personally on there. I was wrong.

I was completely out of it. I have no recollection of the ambulance arriving. I think I may have woken up for a bit while in the ambulance. The next thing I know I’m awake in the ED. It’s all such a blur to me.

A psych nurse came to talk to me and introduced me to a couple of medical students who interviewed me. From what I understand, they’re trying to contact Dr T (ha, good luck) to ask if I can be admitted to a private hospital. I’m also on the waiting list for a bed in the psych ward of F Hospital, the public hospital where I am at current, if there is no news from Dr T.

The psychiatrist here in the ED also spoke to me for a bit. The first thought that came into my head when I saw his face was, “Are you serious?” It was the same psychiatrist who assessed me last time in the ED. Not even the same hospital either. The hospital I was in last time and where I am now, they’re 15km apart, about half an hour’s drive. At least he’s a nice enough guy. And thank goodness he didn’t recognise me. “You’ve ended up in the hospital after an OD AGAIN?!” Not something to be proud of.

Meanwhile I’m spending another night in the ED while I await news of what’s happening.

7 thoughts on “Ambulance, ED…it’s all a blur

  1. Hope you get out the hospital soon. Have you been given a proper bed or are you stuck on a trolley? I have spent many a night on a trolley and they are not the most comfortable things in the world.

    Are you waiting as of medical needs or because of psych needs?

    I hate hospitals.

    xxx

    • I was on a trolley bed last night, tonight I’ve got a real bed,

      Waiting on psych…I always do seem to be waiting on psych huh…

  2. i didnt know you were on tumblr..
    anyway i am glad that they are looking after you and that you are still here! I don’t know whats going on completly but i’m thinking of you ok!

  3. Thinking of you. I hope you can get a hold of Dr T and that they can get you into hospital soon. My hospital always has a waiting list too but most of the time it’s not that long. I hope you’re okay.
    *hugs*
    Sarah

Leave a Reply

