TWIM Awards & the Conclusion of 2010

You may notice I have a shiny new thing on the sidebar of this blog. The TWIM Awards 2010 over at Mental Nurse found me to be awarded with the Best Young Person Blog. I am both honoured and much delighted. It means a lot that readers, many of whom write fantastic blogs themselves, would vote for me. Thank you very much. I’m also pleased to announce many on my blog roll have also picked up awards. Congrats to all the winners and runners up. 🙂

Today we find ourselves at the finish of 2010. I don’t know about you, but it has been one hell of a year for me. Entering 2010, I would’ve never expected it would be so turbulent. This year I’ve managed to; lose my place in my Uni course. Gain a place in another as I start OT next year. Get help again as a result of an ambulance arriving at my house after an overdose. Lose part of that help as I stop seeing my psychologist. Start medication for the first time. Stop medication. Start it again. End up at the Emergency Department after overdosing. Twice. Find myself in a psych ward for the first timeas a result. All in the space of a year.

Part of me didn’t even want to make it to 2011 at all. But ho hum, I’m still here.

I don’t want to keep failing, I want to pass, I want to do well in OT and I don’t want to get kicked out of a Uni course again. I don’t want to keep overdosing, and find myself in the ED over and over again. I need to get my act together for 2011.

Huh.

Easier said than done.

7 thoughts on “TWIM Awards & the Conclusion of 2010

  1. Congratulations; well deserved 🙂

    I really hope that 2011 is a much better year for you (for us all, it seems!). Lots and lots of luck and best wishes for the course and everything else.

    Hugs

    Pan x

  2. Congratulations on the award! And here’s hoping that 2011 is a good year.

    ” I want to pass, I want to do well in OT and I don’t want to get kicked out of a Uni course again. And I don’t want to keep overdosing, and find myself in the ED over and over again” – remember that during the tough times (not that I’m suggesting there’s necessarily going to be “tough times” but you get what I mean…)

    Take care,
    Differently

  3. I know what you mean about this year. I had 5 hospital admissions this year and had a horrible year mostly, with a bit of good thrown in there too, like getting married and getting a permanent job. I also dumped my psychiatrist, started seeing a new one who looked after me in hospital. Congrats on the award, I think that’s awesome. I hope 2011 is kind to you!
    *hugs*
    Sarah

  4. Congratulations on your award! And thank you for directing us to that TWIM Awards page. It turns out I am a runner up and I had no idea!

    I know 2010 has been rough for you, but it sounds like you have an excellent attitude as you enter 2011. You’re right– change is easier said than done, but it’s not impossible. It’s great that you have your OT program to keep you motivated– goals can really help. I think you can do it. No, in fact, I know you can do it. You’re a very brave and smart person. And resilient.

    Happy new year! And I mean that sincerely.

    Wishing you well,
    NOS

Leave a Reply

