Young girls and body image

Today I went out with my family and relatives for lunch. And my aunty says that J (my 11 year old cousin) thinks that she’s fat. The thing is…she’s really thin and petite.

It makes me so sad that a girl as young as her, at the age of 11, is already concerned about her body and thinking that she’s ‘fat.’

When I was her age, I wasn’t concerned about my body size at all. People said that I was skinny and I believed them. I only started having problems with my body image and eating when I was around 16 years old.

It’s shocking that girls have body image issues and are developing eating disorders younger and younger.

I just hope that she doesn’t end up like me, with an eating disorder…

Leave a Reply

